Uncertainties

Okay. So here is the bad news: we haven’t quite come close to what we wanted to create. In fact, there hasn’t been any “us”. After some searching on Hanoi’s market in the business and encountering very bureaucratic process on how to operate a homestay in Hanoi, we gave up. I backpacked to the central, staying here for like a month and got hit by a bus of summer love (no happy ending though. Sorry!). When I got back Hanoi, it felt like there was a part of me missing somewhere on the way. I decided to move to Da Nang to seek that missing part. I’ not quite sure if I have found that missing part, but I’ve found some pieces that fit the rest of me quite well. All in all, I’m happy here.

So it’s September 2016 now. After one year of observing quietly, I think it’s time for me to have a foundation. Like I’ve always said: it’s be good for a boat to know wherever she goes, there’s always an anchor to rely on. The other Phuong – my business partner – has opened a homestay in Hoi An, the beautifully poetic ancient town only 40 mins away from Da Nang. For some reasons, Da Nang is a more reasonable choice for me. I see a lot of potentials in this city. I have met with cool friends and am enjoying a wonderful beach life. Inevitably, there’re some things I miss in Hanoi: jazz, concerts, galleries, flowers, a melancholic sunny winter day, just to name a few. Most of all, life in Da Nang lacks the cultural and art aspect which is essential for me. Therefore, lately this idea keeps coming in and out of my mind: what if I can create a small place combining a home for wanderers and an arty stopover where you free your traveling legs for a while?

(to be cont.)

Leave a comment